Tile of Spain Announces Winners of the 17th Annual Tile of Spain Awards

Tile of Spain, the association of over 100 Spanish tile manufacturers, announces the winners of the 17th annual Tile of Spain Awards of Architecture and Interior Design. The panel of judges, chaired by architect Jorge Silvetti, met on Friday, November 21st in Castellón to decide the award winners.

Winners – Architecture

In the Architecture category, the award went to the “New entrance to Palma’s Intermodal Station,” designed by Joan Miquel Seguí Colomar. Ceramic tiles were used to create a latticework effect as a defining feature for the entrance, marking the threshold between the urban space and the intermodal station. The design marks a return to the Mediterranean tradition of latticework as a filter between exteriors and a more enclosed, user-friendly area.… Continue Reading